Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 27, 2008, 7:30 PM   #1

First let me say that I am new to cameras and taking pictures. I have been looking to purchase my first DSLR so i can learn how to take pictues in manual and translate that knowledge to taking pictures underwater. I will not be taking this camera underwater. I am not loyal to any manufacturer nor do i have any older lenses that could sway my decision. I narrowed down the options to 1. Canon XSI kit with maybe an upgraded lens like the 17-85 (like on the 40D kit), 2. just get the 40D kit with the 17-85 lens. I included the 40D becasue it was not much more expensive after purchasing the better lens with the XSI. I was intregued buy the build quality and the shutter speed. Long story short the salesman used the LCD screens to show that the Canon cameras were not as sharp as the Nikon camera. So i expanded the options to include the NikonD60 which i eventually purchased.

I am now thnking that I made a mistake on the purchase and would greatly appreciate some knowledgable input. The difference in shots could be a result of many things that could be independent of the final product. I have a little time to actually exchange the camera if i so choose. One more question does the introducion of the Canon 50D force the 40D and the XSI price to lower?

Thanks
GFiLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 27, 2008, 8:17 PM   #2

your salesman friend probably used a different lens type.

its the GLASS that makes the picture crisp/clear,.. cheap lens =cheap result.

i wouldn't have bought the d60.. if it was me i'd have gone for the 40D

BUT.. in my humble opinion if you wanted a Nikon you should have gone for the D80.

yes.. the release of the 50D and the Nikon D90 will force the price of the others down.. who wants the older model for a similar price??

but . as a beginner theres nothing wrong with the "older model" they are still goood cameras.