Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 29, 2008, 7:43 PM   #1

I just need some advice on picking between these cameras. I am new to SLR photography. I did some amateur photography with a Pentax film camera for a hobby. I am looking to get into it a little more seriously now.

I have the lenses already for the Pentax that are fully functional, I have checked. I have the smaller lens that came with the camera along with a 75mm-300mm. I can get the K200D body alone for $338.

Or I can get the Sony Alpha which comes with 18-70mm and the 75-300mm for $366.

I am just a little confused which would be better. The big differences I can see are the battery and memory cards. It seems that the Pentax does a lot more automatically (aperture, white-balance, saturation, etc) which would be good for me because I am new. But the Sony may do that as well and I don't know. AHH PLEASE HELP!
Thanks guys.
rae rae is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 29, 2008, 8:30 PM   #2
Administrator

Quote:
It seems that the Pentax does a lot more automatically (aperture, white-balance, saturation, etc) which would be good for me because I am new. But the Sony may do that as well and I don't know.
Both of these models use a Sony 10MP CCD Sensor, and and have Auto modes with Auto White balance (as well as a variety of scene modes, and the ability to control Saturation, Contrast, Sharpness, etc. via settings if you don't like the defaults).

The Sony is probably a bit faster with Autofocus, and the Sony has much faster write speeds to memory cards. For example, you can shoot at 3 frames per second until a fast memory card is full with no pauses. With the Pentax, you'd be limited to around 10 jpeg images in it's high speed continuous mode before the camera slows down. If you're not shooting a lot of sports, that may not make any difference to you (and even if you are, you may be fine with that many frames).