Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 8, 2008, 5:44 PM   #1

I am looking at the Pentax K200d pretty heavily as well as the Olympus Evolt 510.
These are two new brands to me. I have owned a pentax p&s camera before and an olympus p&s but never DSLR. I have owned a dslr before though a Nikon D40.

My question...

Which has better value?

Does the Pentax have a wide range of lenses including 3rd party (i.e. Sigma) and lenses from an earlier time like 35mm film lenses mountable on the K200d.

Same with the Olympus 510 does it have a wide var. of lenses even some that date back to the 35mm age.

And any experience out there?

I do know the Olympus comes with a two lens kit which is nice. But the pentax too comes with a *decent* kit lens.

I am a serious amateur looking to shoot anything from wildlife to athletics to landscapes to macro. I will be buying a 35mm slr body of the same brand I decide.
I.E. If I go with the K200d I'll buy a pentax 35mm body. Same with Olympus. Hence me wanting a lens mount on the digital that can switch. So I can take off my prime lens from the DSLR and swap it with the telephoto lens from the 35mm.

I am sorry I'm being picky.
In help would be greatly appreciated.
-Ron

imported-optics is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 8, 2008, 6:47 PM   #2

Some additional info would be useful:

1. What is it about the D40 you don't like?

2. Why are you buying a film SLR in addition to the DSLR? What is it you perceive the film SLR can do for you that the DSLR cannot?
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2008, 7:06 PM   #3

1.) D40 was to small, lacked a motor drive and I did not care for the ergonomics.
2.) I develop my own 35mm. It's a hobby. Also a 35mm camera can make a multi exposure (which very very very few digitals can do) I understand you can manipulate a multi exposure by overlapping images... But... WHAT FUN IS THAT!