Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 10, 2008, 11:17 PM   #1
mpk

Hi,

im looking at buying a new camera and have narrowed down to 3 camera's - Sony H50, Nikon Coolpix P80 and Canon Rebel XT. My budget is under $500. Currently i use a Canon SD750 IS, but im not happy with the night photo's especially of city skylines and thats the reason i need a new camera with better quality Photo's. Im not a professional photographer, but i do like my photo's with good quality. I know its hard to compare digital with SLR, but i just need comparison on the quality of photo's. Is the quality of Rebel excellent enough to pay $500 when i can get similar quality(??) with H10 or P80 which i can get for $300. How big is the difference in quality of night pics for these camera's.

Can anyone advice which of these 3 would have the best quality for night photo's. Im not worried about day pics as even a 3mp camera takes excellent day photo's. Also i wont be buying new lenses if i get the Rebel XT, i will use the 1 that comes with it which is approx 4x optical zoom which is fine with me. My main concern is quality of night pics, 18x or 4x zoom is not a concern for me. Also i dont want to carry lots of lenses for now neither do i want to change lenses everytime, its more of point and shoot with some manual changes but good quality of night photo's. so 1 lense with Rebel would be enough for me. Also if anyone is wondering why i didnt chose Canon S5, then its because of AA batteries. Also not sure if a Nikon D40/D60 is better than Rebel XT as its in similar price range.

Thanks,
MPK
mpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 15, 2008, 3:18 PM   #2

Between the H50 and the P80 it's pretty much a draw. Check here: http://www.digitalversus.com/duels.p...=3560&ph=1

H50 vs. Pany FZ18: http://www.digitalversus.com/duels.p...=3299&ph=1