Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

View Poll Results: Fuji or Panasonic
Fuji Finepix S100fs 3 75.00%
Panasonic DMC-FZ-50 1 25.00%
Voters: 4. You may not vote on this poll

Old Sep 19, 2008, 3:53 AM   #1

I've got both sitting at home & one has to go back. I bought both at approx. the same price, so that's not an issue. I'm a long time photographer & have done it professionally, owned lots of cameras & currently own 1 Nikon film camera (and lenses), a bunch of Oly (E-10, E-300 + 4 lenses), and lots more little digital things (mostly Nikon & Oly). I'm tired of lugging around all my lenses, and I'm too old to do that anymore unless I have too. I'd like a long (ultra?) zoom all-in-one solution and these two seem to be the best choices. BUT: each has drawbacks. The Panasonic is an older technology, smaller & less capable sensor but is a very well liked camera. The Fuji is more up-to-date, state-of-the-art, with a bigger sensor, more dynamic range, better hi ISO performance, less noise. BUT: has an issue with CA & purple fringing in certain high contrast shots.

I change my mind every day (literally). What would you do?

I have no interest in the new Panasonic G1, btw.
mfurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 19, 2008, 10:06 AM   #2

I would keep the Fuji and use software to remove the chromatic aberration. I like the Fuji's wide angle settings and superior low light performance.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2008, 10:14 AM   #3

Thanks! I'm leaning that way (today). I'm thinking that the CA, when its there, is fixable, then again . . .:?
Old Sep 19, 2008, 11:14 AM   #4

mfurst-

I surely do agree completely with Robbo. Keep the Fuji, it has more features and you will be able to use them. Good Luck.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2008, 2:05 PM   #5
Administrator

mfurst wrote:
Quote: