Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 20, 2008, 2:59 PM   #1

Hi. I've been researching several sites trying to determine which superzoom to buy. I think that I'm lost in information and am paralyzed in making a decision. I need some help.

I am looking for a superzoom camera with good photo quality and good first and next shot shutter speed (next shot more imporatant). I am an amatuer photographer and plan on using the camera to take photos of my children, vacations, outdoors, etc. I like the superzoom so that I can sneak up on an image and capture it without being noticed (especially my infant's expressions). Oh, my price range is $250-$450.

I have had Canon's all of my life and have been happy with them, although I am open to switching. Here are some of the models on my short list. What do you think?

Kodak EasyShare Z1012 IS, Canon PowerShot SX100 IS, Canon PowerShot S5 IS, Olympus SP-570 UZ, Olympus SP-560 UZ, and Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ18

Are there others I should consider?

Thanks, Allison

allison_ma is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 20, 2008, 4:51 PM   #2

Allison,

You should add the Sony H50 and the Panasonic FZ28 (FZ18 replacement). Canon has just announced the SX10 IS, but it looks like it will exceed your budget at $500.

You can also check out Steve's Best for the Super Zoom category for others.

http://www.steves-digicams.com/best_cameras.html

Dennis

denncald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2008, 5:36 PM   #3

Allison-

Welcome to the Forum. Personally, I am sort of a ultrazoom nut. If you want to stay at the bottom level of your budget, I can heartily recommend either the Kodak Z-1012 and the Sony H-10 and both of these cameras are on Steve's Best Camera List.

Here is a Kodak Z-1012 photo sample:

Here is a Sony H-3 photo sample. The Sony H-10 is exactly the same as the H-3 but it has a larger LCD screen.