Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 22, 2008, 2:59 PM   #1

Hey I have a Canon A570 IS but im looking into getting into photography more seriously I'm really new to photography and I need to buy a good camera that in the range of 300 - 400 which I can play and learn more. Im not going to be a professional photographer but it is just a passion for photography I have ..
Please help me..
thanks in advance;
Siva.
shivas86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 22, 2008, 3:15 PM   #2

"the range of 300 - 400" rules out a dSLR.

Have you looked at Steve's Best Cameras?

Perhaps something in a 'Super Zoom' would work well for you.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2008, 3:41 PM   #3

Oh ya i saw it thanks. I like the Sony Alpha DSLR-A200 (with 18-70mm lens) but since Im new to photography do you think it will be very hard for me to learn about the lens and shutter speeds. Do you think this camera is suitable for me.

Thanks.
Old Sep 22, 2008, 4:38 PM   #4

I think a couple points would be helpful. First, the entry level DSLRs all have auto mode as well as pre-fab (sports, scenery, etc) modes. So they really aren't more difficult to learn than a digicam. There are differences (like controlling zoom with a ring on the lens vs a button on the camera), like shallower depth-of-field (dOF refers to how much of the image is in focus - since the lenses ofDSLRs are physically longer and the sensors larger than digicams you don't get as much in-focus as you do with a digicam. Don't misunderstand the focus systems on DSLRS are MUCH better but what I mean is things in front of or behind the subject you're focusing on will be more blurred ). Also DSLRs tend to apply less processing to images AS A DEFAULT - but they all allow you to bump up the in-camera processing if you desire (sharpness, saturation etc.).