Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 6, 2008, 7:21 PM   #1

I am new to the DSLRs, currently have the Canon S5IS. I am looking to upgrade and would like a camera that will take me a long way into the future without upgrading until I am very good, when that happens....lol.

I want a body, and two lenses to start, and a CF tripod. I have been looking at the 50D and 5D and a few others.

Primarily I will use for landscape, travels, and wildlife. Those are my initial interests. Any suggestions would be helpful as I am new to this, and renting a camera probably wouldnt tell me alot due to inexperience.

Thanks....and appreciate the forum
inthemoment is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 6, 2008, 7:53 PM   #2

How much is your budget?

Do you have a preference for Canon?

I have just an entry level Pentax DSLR, but I would probably go for the successor to the 5D, the 5D Mark II, which, has added resolution, and video capabilities. It's also cheaper than the 5D was when it first came out. They have it on pre-order at Ritz.

The 50D seems to me to be better for a person interested in sports photography with its 6.3 FPS burst mode.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2008, 8:08 PM   #3

inthemoment wrote:
Quote:
I want a body, and two lenses ....

Primarily I will use for landscape, travels, and wildlife. ...
Landscape usually calls for a wide angle lens. Travel photos are usually accomplished with the kit lens. Wildlife usually calls for a telephoto. That's three lenses.

The Canons you mentioned are both very good, but you haven't mentioned anything that would eleminate any dSLR.

There are lots of reasons to selection one brand over another, so I'll start there.

Canon has the best autofocus system for sports/action/wildlife, followed closely by Nikon (except their entry level models), then Sony and Pentax, then the entry level Nikons and Olympus.