Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 9, 2008, 3:29 AM   #1

Hi, I am new to Steves Digicams this is my first post.

I am finaly upgrading to a DSLR for my Airplane Spotting which i enjoy and love so much.
I have been looking at the Sony A350 and the Canon 40D, I will also need a long range lens and a short range lens. My budget is about £500, and i am looking for a good DSLR that i can get my pictures onto http://www.jetphotos.net and http://www.airliners.net after ben edited.

Thanks in advance, Kriss.
Kmcrither is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 9, 2008, 7:39 AM   #2
Super Moderator

You won't find those cameras in your price range I'm afraid, except possibly second hand.

All is not lost however, from http://www.warehouseexpress.com (for example) there are a few options that might suit you:

Sony A200 + 17-80 kit lens (£270) + Sigma 70-300 APO (£160) = £430 which leaves some cash for memory cards, etc.

Pentax K200D + 18-55 + 50-200 kit = £480.

Olympus E420+ 14-42 + 40-150 kit = £430.
peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2008, 8:34 AM   #3

peripatetic wrote:
Quote:
Sony A200 + 17-80 kit lens (£270) + Sigma 70-300 APO [emphasis mine. - TCav] (£160) = £430 which leaves some cash for memory cards, etc.
While the Sigma 70-300 APO is a good lens in all other respects, the gears in the autofocus mechanisms are stripping on Sony dSLRs. The Tamron 70-300 Di LD is slightly better, slightly cheaper, and more important, doesn't strip its gearson Sony dSLRs.