Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 12, 2008, 8:46 PM   #1

I have a budget of $600 to buy a DSLR. The purpose of this camera is exculsively to shoot sports events since my point and shoot isn't doing the job. Our family does triathlons, marathons/running, tennis, football, and soccer. I am a newbie to photography so I don't know what to look for exactly. The camera's that seem to fit the budget right now are the Nikon D40 ($469), Nikon D60 ($599) and the Canon XS ($599). I have read wonderful things about the Nikon D40 so I am tempted to get that one but don't really know any better and I am just looking at the budget. All three cameras's come with 18-55 lens so a lens to 200 or 300 would be a follow-on purchase when I have some money.

What should I be really looking at ? In triathlons and marathons which are extremely long events you only have 2-5 chances of seeing the person so please keep that in mind.

THX in adavance.
cbarnes2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 12, 2008, 9:14 PM   #2

Marathons and triatholons are more about placement than anything else. You'll want a position within 10 yards of the runner.

As far as cameras are concerned none of the cameras in your range are going to be great sports shooting cameras. If you could up your budget and get the Canon XSi it would be worth it. If not, then the XS and D60 it will have to be.