Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 15, 2008, 3:46 PM   #1

Hi I'm a newbie here and this is my first post. I found this forum by chance and read some of the posts and loved the general spirit of humour in the posts.

I work for a horrid multi-national energy company here in the UK and want to finally escape and do something i love. I've already developed my skills developing websites and also do alot of PC/Mac hardware work. I've always had a passion for photography despite knowing very little, some things have never changed, and wanted to combine these skills.

When i was 12, a neighbor gave me a mini Olympus SLR camera, all i can remember was he was given it at an optics convention in Japan. God knows what the specific model was but i wore this thing out (actually think i couldn't get the non-standard film for it after a few years), it was so small it fit into the palm of my hand.

I currently use a Sony DSC-H7 bridge camera and hate it, despite this I plan on booking myself onto a professional photography course. Thing is they recommend getting a dslr for the course.

I went to the local photography store here in Burton which is over 80 years old, fancied the look of the new Sony/NIkons and the guy really pushed me to the Olympus range. He felt for learning the craft either the D420 or the 520 would be the best bet. He really didn't like the current crop of Nikon or Canon's which i was thinking would be my best best. He went on about the Olympus having a technological lead because the other bodies were still based of designs derivative of film units. He also warned me about the UK magazines being very Nikon/Canon centric purely because of their advertising spend, often he said they get better scores than they deserve.

He also recommended the Sony's though refused to call them Sony, saying they're Konica Minolta with Tamron lenses rebadged.