Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 30, 2008, 12:06 PM   #1

Hi,

I am a martial arts teacher and have been messing around with digital photography for a couple of years now. I have an Olympus E-300 currently and I am wanting to upgrade to a better D-SLR. My budget is 1000.00 max and I sure could use some advice. My photography is divided up 70/30, 70% being martial arts and I want to take more movement/action shots (this is where me and Olympus are not getting along) and the 30% being outdoor scenes. Alot of the outdoor scenes I enjoy taking are both static and movement of wildlife. If you folks have any ideas for me, I would certainly enjoy hearing from you.

Thanks,

Rich
Chillian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 30, 2008, 12:48 PM   #2

The Canon EOS 40D might be worth a look. It has a very fast burst mode and decent low light image quality. However, you might need to get a fast (bright) lens to avoid blurriness when taking pictures of very fast moving martial artists.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 1:33 PM   #3

Hey Rich,

Welcome to the forums. The Olys are great cameras but as you discovered, low light action is not their strong suit.

Canon and Nikon are the best in the business at that. Sony's A700 is a great action camera too, unfortunately the lower end models are not and the A700 is out of your budget.

Are you wanting to take photos only in your own dojo? At tournaments? If it's only your own dojo, if you could post a couple photos (without flash) I can see what the light levels are you're working with.

It's very likely you would need either ISO3200 and 2.8 lens (which means you can use zoom) or 1600 and a 2.0 lens (which means you have to use fixed length prime lenses).