Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 2, 2008, 2:36 AM   #1

Hello All.

I have been using a Sony W1 for a few years and It has served me quite well, though it cant really produce the clarity and quality I need or would like. Id like to take this hobby a step further and possibly get a DSLR.

I will shoot mostly Outdoors, but also in very dark places. So I need a versatile camera. This site, which shows many pictures gives a decent idea of what I plan to shoot.
http://phasor.industrialnewyork.com/locations.shtml

So there may be shots above ground, but there may also be some shots in those pretty dark places.

I can at max spend $700 with lenses, so I am on a budget compared to many here. I am open to all brands, though have had goos customer service experience with Canon before. I like good customer service and warranty, they are big for me. But again I am open to other brands.

Thank you, and if you need any more info please feel free to ask.
Vinny77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 2, 2008, 6:15 AM   #2

For cityscapes, the kit lens might be sufficient, but not for low light. For that, you'll need a fast prime. For a budget of $700, that might be tough.

Canon has the XS (10MP, 'Live View', 18-55mm stabilized lens,<$500) and can get the Canon 50mm f/1.8 (not stabilized, <$100) for the low light shooting.

Nikon has the D60 (10MP, 18-55mm stabilized lens,<$550 after rebate) and a 50mm f/1.8 (not stabilized, ~$100), but it won't autofocus on the D60.

Olympus has the E-520 (10MP, 'Live View', stabilized body, 14-42mm lens, <$550), but any of their large aperture lenses will put you over budget.

Pentax has the K200D (10MP, stabilized body, 18-55mm lens, ~$600), but a large aperture lens will put you over budget, even off the used market.