Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 2, 2008, 10:23 PM   #1

Hi. I am a teacher looking for a remotely inexpensive (under $200) camera to use at school and at home (vacations). I need a quick shutter speed (small children), ease of use (I am technically inclined, but am an amateur when it comes to photography- will not be programming the resolution), would like scene options (black and white, sepia, panoramic, etc), would like 3x or 5x zoom (on vacations, we take landscape pictures often). I would like it to easily fit in my pocket (when I am at school, pictures are usually taken on the run- not always strategically set up). I am unsure of the lithium batteries and would like the option of having a regular battery or a wall charger, not just relying on a USB cable- although I am not dead-set against it if the battery is long-lasting or it gives warning long before wearing down (I need a low-fuel light!!) The camera I have now is a Fuji Finepix- it is at school right now so I do not know the exact model. I purchased it several years ago and need an update. I think it has 2MP or 3MP!! I dont know enough about cameras to know whether I need 10MP while I am purchasing or if 8MP would be just as good for several more years. The shutter speed is horrible on my current one. If I dont get the first picture just right (and that rarely happens with small children!!), they are distracted and on to something other than saying "cheese" by the time my camera is ready! I really just need a bit of direction and some advice on what I need and what to steer clear of. I (think!!) like th Kodak Easyshare M1033, but again am unsure of the battery. Is there a wall charger or another option if I dont have access to a computer? or does the battery last long enough that I shouldnt have to worry about it if at school or on vacation? Other cameras that I (May) like- again , not sure! are: Canon Powershot SD770IS and Sony Cybershot DSC-W150 but