Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 6, 2008, 1:38 PM   #1

So, a while back I ad myself convinced to get a Nikon D40. Then I kind of forgot about it as I got busy with work and school. Now that the holidays are here I feel the itch to grab a new camera. A week ago I though I had my mind made up on just getting a FZ28. But now I am back to thinking a DSLR is the way to go.

I really don't want to drop more than $500 for the body and kit lens, but would go a little higher if it's justified.

I will mostly be shooting kind of spur of the moment stuff for the family and when taking walks outside and what not.

I would like something that will work, with the right lens of course, for shooting my son's football games.

I want good low light performance.

I am not a pro and this will basically be a general use tool as an upgrade to my p/s but I do enjoy photography and would like to improve my skills and want the best output possible for my money.

I have been reading a ton of these threads and reviews and stuff and right now I am leaning toward the a200, the k200d, or the xs. Any thoughts?
jdonnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 6, 2008, 1:45 PM   #2

Based on a current "I want a DSLR camera" thread, how important is camera size, weight,and bulk to you, to carry around?

If you have no problems with the camera size, weight, or bulk of your camera kit that will increase when you add additional lenses, the perhaps the Pentax K-200 is a camera to look at seriously.

That is the camera I selected after analyzing the various DSLR reviews.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2008, 2:30 PM   #3

weight and size are not an issue. Unfortunately pricing is. What is motivating me now is that the XS and the a200 are both available with the kit lens and a larger zoom lens for about the same cost as the Pentax and single kit lens.