Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 9, 2008, 12:37 PM   #1

hi everyone and thank you in advance for your time, insight and interest. I am just an amateur so I won't be able to communicate in technical language.
I am looking to buy a pocket size camera that features:
- a wide as possible lens for architecturally usable sights and landscapes of course
- an intense zoom
- the ability to take fast focused shots (unlike the olympus 570 for instance/i know it's a bridge but you know what i mean)
- the ability to quickly handle manually the settings if desired without the labyrinth of the menus
- you know, in all something i can keep always on me, is solid, can rely on for years for everyday most common situations and descent in low light indoor events.
If it had a bigger zoom my choice would be the canon g10 but i am also considering the panasonic tz5. What are their limitations and flows? Any other suggestions? What do you think?
jannisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 9, 2008, 2:08 PM   #2

jannisa-

The Panasonic TZ-5 might be the answer to meet your pocket size requirements. It has a a 28mm wide angle to 280mm (all in 35mm terms) So it gives you both a wide angle and some zoom

The Canon G-10 does not really have much of a wide angle and it has less zoom.

Another option is the Panasonic FZ-28 which is a better camera offering a 28mm wide angle all the way out to 500mm (in 35mm terms) of zoom. However in is not exacly pocket size.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2008, 3:44 PM   #3

thanks sarah. i have seen your several posts for the fz-28 and it would be my choice if it was smaller. Actually i think that the g10 is also 6.1mm (280 in 35mm) but with less zoom than the pany tz5. Do you have any info about image quality between the two or even the sony w170? Which one sounds a better deal to you?
Old Dec 9, 2008, 3:58 PM   #4

Jannisa-