Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 14, 2008, 11:26 PM   #1

I have been doing online research for a while now and I still can't figure out which one is better to go with. I have been doing extensive research on the Nikon D90, Canon Rebel XSi, Sony Alpha A-300, and the Olympus E-520. I am open to other suggestions as well. I am new to the whole digital SLR thing. I have an older SLR so all of this new technology is hard to decipher. I am pretty much a beginner who hasused point and shoots for most of my shots, but I want to upgrade to better quality photos. I also need to consider the cost of lenses as well. I know lenses for Nikons are more expensive and lenses on the Sony are less expensive all due to the image stabilization being in the camera on the Sony and in the lens for the Nikons and Canons. I just need a great camera to grow with and take shots of vacations and family gatherings. I also don't want to break the bank. I think the D90 is the absolute ceiling here so getting a better lens on that camera is probably out of the question. Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!
makins117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 14, 2008, 11:39 PM   #2

From what I've read, the Nikon D90 is the best of the cameras on your list, followed by the Canon XSi.

The D90 not only has great picture quality and speed but can also take videos, unlike the others on your list.
AndyfromVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 12:09 AM   #3

My reservation with the D90 is that it leaves me very little money to get a better lens or an additional lens. Another question I have is about the lens quality for Canon and Sony. Are they any good?
Old Dec 15, 2008, 5:41 AM   #4