Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 18, 2008, 12:04 PM   #1

Hi all,
First of all I would like thank all of you for your wonderful contributions in these forums. I am looking for a new digital camera which can fulfil most of my criteria below. I will be printing some of my pics at 8"X10" or more (if possible). I am a novice but I want to learn the art of photography. All your advice will make me take a good/informed decision. In short, best bang for buck.

Price Range: Preferably within $200

Size: Compact

Preferences:

1. Image Quality (Outdoor/Indoor/Low Light)
2. Wide angle (preferably)
3. Minimum 5x Zoom
4. Manual Control (though not extremely essential)
5. Standard Video output.

Thanking you all in advance.

Regards
Joy
JoyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 18, 2008, 1:02 PM   #2

Joy-

This might be the time to go a bit higher than your $(US) 200.00 budget. The Panasonic TZ-5 is selling for around $(US) 220.00.It is very compact width 4.1, Height 2.3. and Depth 1.4 (all expressed in inches), 10X optical zoom (28 to 280mm in 35mm terms) giving you your desired wide angle capability, it has some manual controls, and HD video clip output.

If you can do without the video clip capability, the Panasonic TZ-4 selling at around $(US) 154.00. The attached photo sample was taken without flash, using an ISO setting of 800,in the floral department of our local super market with the TZ-5. The exact same results could be obtained with the TZ-4.

Sarah Joyce
Attached Images

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2008, 1:59 PM   #3

Not so much zoom as the TZ jobs. But the Sony W150 and W170 are not too shabby in low light. Also give you slightly more control than the Panasonics.

Kelly Cook
KCook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2008, 2:15 AM   #4

Sarah & Kelly,