Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 25, 2008, 7:20 PM   #1

Hi All-
I am a newbie posting here but I have followed this forum since its inception. In fact it was the review of the NIkon Coolpix here that swayed me to get the 990.
I have decided it is time for me to upgrade the camera. Mainly because I got tired of buying batteries for the thing! It goes about 2 hours and then...time for new batteries.
What I really love about the camera is its macro capabililty for one..(It is my main Ebay Camera) and 2, the picture it produces is very accurate in terms of color and tone. I know that I can fix this in photoshop but the picture that is in the LCD screen is exactly the same in terms of color and brightness, contrast as the downloaded picture. Also when using the camera there does not seem to be any distortion of the sides in macro like I get with other cameras. I know I am not describing it quite right but if I take a picture of a square box the sides are still straight. With the other cameras they tend to not be straight at times and I have to do extensive photoshop.
In the past I have used the Olympus Camedia C-3030. Nice but the pictures all had a yellow cast. I set the white balance correctly...it just seemed a little off.
I have also used a Panasonic Lumix FZ28. The downloaded pictures come out a little dark and have to be lightened up.
So I am looking for either a DSLR or a DSLR with interchangeable lenses.
Any ideas? I haven't been in the market for a few years but I would like an upgrade to the awesome Nikon 990! Pricing around $400-800?
Elmogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 25, 2008, 7:57 PM   #2

Quote:
I have decided it is time for me to upgrade the camera. Mainly because I got tired of buying batteries for the thing! It goes about 2 hours and then...time for new batteries.