Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 30, 2008, 4:40 PM   #1

Hello,
I'd appreciate some advice. I am a professional gardener who takes photographs for teaching and pr for our garden. The photos are used in powerpoint and print publication and web use. I have been using a Fuji F700 (which remarkably has served quite well). I am ready to upgrade. I want the camera to be lightwieight, have manual mode, have an optical viewfinder(easier to use outdoors) and be capable of taking close ups as well as garden scenes. (Wide angle landscapes not very important in my work). I am looking at the Canon G10 and Nikon Coolpix p5100. Any advice on which is better? I like the weight, cost of the Nikon but have read it's not as intuitive to use and the files arent available in RAW (how critical is this?). The Canon sounds more intuitive but it's heavier and I've read that the center of the optical viewfinder is not the center of the photo which i would find annoying.
Also, I'd like to be able to take action shots of our cats and am concerned about lag time.Thanks for your thoughts.

gardener33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 30, 2008, 6:09 PM   #2

gardener-

If I had to make a choice between just those two cameras, without hesitation I would choose the Canon G-10. The G-10 is much better than the Nikon P-5100.

However, if the search was widened a bit there are more cameras to consider. From your post, size and weight seems to hold some importance. A wide angle is not necessary, and a need for zoom was not mentioned. I am wondering if an EVF would be just as acceptable as a viewfinder?? Well, here are some other cameras that you might want to consider and they could save you some money as well.

Canon SD-880 IS

Canon A-590 IS

Kodak Z-1012* EVF Viewfinder

Sony H-50* EVF Viewfinder

Sony W-300 - a reallyexcellent camera but, sometime the menu is confusing

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote