Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 4, 2009, 11:55 PM   #1

I'm a Chassidic artist ( w/ a long white beard ) in Brooklyn, NY, a husband and father devoted to my family whose goal is to make my art my living. [/b]

[/b]

My immediate goal is to make giclees from my original paintings, which are as large as 4 ft. by 6 ft. I read online that I need a camera with a certain # of megapixels (8mp ?) in order to produce photos of my work that are at least 250-300 pixel resolution to create giclees that are the same size & clarity as the original pieces.[/b]

[/b]

I am on a very limited budget. Can you possibly suggest a suitable camera? The choices I have seen advertised in the newspapers and online are mind-boggling. Can you please advise me.[/b]
Moishe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 5, 2009, 1:00 AM   #2

There are a number of decent, inexpensive 12 megapixel digital cameras. I have one, a Fuji F50fd, which is now available for between $150 and $200 online. Its top resolution images are 4000 X 3000 pixels. But you won't get 250 dpi on a 4 foot by 6 foot print.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2009, 4:41 AM   #3

Hi,

I believe that there will be a bit more to this than just a 8-12MP digicam. There will be some software requirements as well. There are image enlargement software packages that allow you to enlarge the print size without diminishing the detail of the image. One that comes to mind is Genuine Fractals. Here is a link that explains what the software is capable of:

http://www.ononesoftware.com/detail.php?prodLine_id=2

you stated that your on a very limited budget. So, I'm guessing that you're going to submit the digital file of your work to a printer that has the capability to reproduce a giclee print in that size. Chances are that the printer would have theimage enlargement software necessary to achieve the sizes you would like.