Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 13, 2009, 12:29 PM   #1

Hello to everyone! I am a newbie here to the forums, as well as to digital SLRs.

My husband was a professional photographer and photo editor in NYC, who has worked mainly with SLRs. He has a number of great Canon lenses and I would like to buy a Rebel on which I can use those lenses and am having difficulty in fully determining which one is best for my needs.

I have read reviews and done much research on all the available Rebels and have read so much (positive as well as negative) about each that I can't decide what will meet my needs best.

My needs for a digital include, but are not limited to -

1) child and toddler portraits - I love to take photos of my little ones and my digital point and shoot is just too slow to capture them often times.

2) I am a doula and will also need to take the camera with me to births and postpartum visits to shoot pictures. Therefore, I do need the ability to take many pictures in rapid succession and I need it to be fairly sturdy.

3) one that can well handle low-light photography.

So, I have Canon lenses to use; now I just need to decide which camera body to put them on. I basically would like to take high quality portraits and action shots of people that will not be printed in large sizes.

Before I had children (nine years ago) I loved taking photos and was rarely found without my camera. I am very interested in getting back into photography, and really jumping into digital photography and learning more about it as I experiment.

I would prefer not to spend a large amount of money (an xsi and some accessories would be the limit of my budget), as I am thinking that this will be a transitional camera - one I can learn on and utilize well, and then make the upgrade to something in the future when I have become more experienced and educated about digital photography and my own abilities.