Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 14, 2009, 7:57 PM   #1

I am looking to purchase an new DSLR and have narrowed it down to these three. I am trying to stay under $500 and I am a beginner to the DSLR's. I have a newborn son and am looking to take pictures of him as well as nature, vacation, and sports photos. I am trying to find a camera that would suit my needs for the present as well as the future. Please give any advice as to which camera you feel is the best value for the price. Thanks
bmclaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 14, 2009, 10:47 PM   #2

bmclaff wrote:
Quote:
I am looking to purchase an new DSLR and have narrowed it down to these three. I am trying to stay under $500 and I am a beginner to the DSLR's. I have a newborn son and am looking to take pictures of him as well as nature, vacation, and sports photos. I am trying to find a camera that would suit my needs for the present as well as the future. Please give any advice as to which camera you feel is the best value for the price. Thanks
There are no bad cameras per se, and each of those cameras will do everything you want nearly equally well. I might give the edge to the Canon at the moment but that is strickly a gut impression rather than a real analytical reasoning.

Theissue at handis your budget, the scope of what you seek to accomplish and whether you are willing or able to spend more $ on lenses and flash.

Let's take sports for starters...

Are you trying to take "I was there" type pictures.