Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 19, 2009, 5:59 PM   #1
Bex

I've been using my Canon PowerShot A80 for many years, and I was quite happy with it, but unfortunately it started behaving strangely recently, and I decided to buy a new camera.

My requirements:

1)Budget $300 or less

2)"Ok" or "good" indoor quality AND night performance is a must. I understand I cannot get "excellent" for this kind of money in a camera of this size, so "ok" or "decent" is all I'm looking for. I bought one of those small Sony CyberShots from costco a few months ago, but quickly returned it because indoor performance was horrible. Indoor images were extremely grainy, and looked like they were drawn on paper, rather than shot with a camera. Very "aftificial"... I was very surprised to see a 10 megapixel modern camera perform much worse then my very old A80, which was actually quite decent with night and indoor shots.

3)Some optical zoom ability. Doesnt have to be a lot.

4)Powered by AA batteries. Preferred, but not required.

5)Optical viewfinder strongly preferred.
Bex is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 19, 2009, 7:36 PM   #2

The pixel density on your old Canon was probably about a third of the Sony, therefore increased noise at high ISO settings.

Take a look at the Fuji f100fd - better than average low light performance (it has a larger sensor than your A80), 5x optical zoom (28-140mm), and right at your budget maximum.

Good luck with your search.

the Hun

rinniethehun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 8:32 PM   #3

Take a look of Kodak Z1012is.

It has a High ISO mode, which can nicely capture low light indoor protraits without flash. It this mode, the noise reduction algorithm is pretty good. Not much noise in the picture.

It has a 12x zoom lens.

Current price is around $230.

Its size is slightly larger than one of those bigger-sized Canon PowerShot cameras.