Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 26, 2009, 1:28 AM   #1

I thoughtI wanted the Sony Cybershot DSC-H10 but then was told to consider Canon Powershot SX10 IS and Panasonic Luminix DMC-TZ5.

I am a novice but know I want to be able to take pictures inrapid succession, take landscapes and group pictures day and night, be able to get a decent picture of a person 40 yards away, and be able to catch action shots of my nephew playing sports.

Recommendations? Things to consider? Which of these three is best?
NicoleL is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 26, 2009, 3:16 AM   #2

To do everything you want fairly well, you'll need an expensive dSLR and lenses which will be big and heavy, and unsuitable for a novice. Low light & night photography, and sports are difficult subjects.

The cameras you suggest would be good learning tools, to teach you what you need in a camera.I would add to your list the very cheap Kodak Z1012is, which is small and light. (I have one, and its predecessor the Z712.)

You might be satisfied with your results, or you might want to upgrade when you've learned how to use such a camera. If you have a cheap, lightsuperzoom you could afford to keep it as a spare or for when travelling light.

I gave up film SLRs for small digicams because I seldom had the camera and the right lens near enough or quickly enough when I needed them. I always had a small film camera with me, though, before digicams.
Alan T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2009, 2:14 PM   #3

Thank you for your insights Alan.I had a feeling I wanted more than these cameras will do. Still,I knowI don't want to deal with changing lenses, so I guess I have to look for the best equipped all-in-ones I can find, and then possibly upgrade later if I really find I need to (perhapsI don't need all the features I currently thinkI need). I'll check out the other camerayou mentioned.
NicoleL is offline   Reply With Quote