Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 27, 2009, 10:50 AM   #1

Hi Everyone!

I hope you'll be able to help me! I am completely new to the world of SLR photography and I have enrolled on a course beginning in April to teach me the basics. I need to purchase a camera before the course begins but before I know what I'm doing!!.....kind of a chicken and the egg situation!!

I would like a good 'all-rounder' that I won't grow out of too quickly and I am particularly interested in low-light photography, sunsets etc.

I am considering the following:

Canon 450d, Nikon d60, Sony alpha (anything from 200-350) and I have read good reviews for all of them. I cannot quite seem to find which one is better in low-light though.

I am unsure whether it would be better to buy one of the more expensive cameras or on of the cheaper ones (sony alpha) and a good lense to go with it?

I'm sorry if that sounds silly/ isn't specific enough but as I said I'm new to this and there's alot to take in! Any advice will be greatly appreciated!
tw408 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2009, 3:28 PM   #2

All of the cameras you listed, plus the Pentax dSLR cameras, will do what you want. If you are buying for a class, just buy the camera and the kit lens, wait for anything else. I wouldn't buy an expensive camera at first - for low light I'd buy a basic camera then add a good, fast lens later, when you can afford it. And if you only buy the basic kit, then find that the camera doesn't suit you, you don't have much money tied up in the system and can switch platforms easier.