Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 1, 2009, 12:03 AM   #1

After reading these links:

http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/recommended-cameras.htm
http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d40.htm

I'm almost convinced to get the Nikon D40 (The price is a huge plus. I'm not a professional photographer, I just wanna learn new things and buy my first dSLR). The thing holding me back is that the D60 comes with a VR lens. Will that really make a huge difference?

My other concern is if I should really get a dSLR, or just get a "prosumer" camera, like the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ28, or the Canon Powershot S5. I don't know anything about manual operation in cameras (though I can learn!) so for the first few times, I'd be using the auto settings. Which I guess can also give me some nicer looking pictures?

I dunno, I want a huge leap in quality over the Sony DSC-W55 point and shoot, but I'm also on a budget, which is why I'm not really sure what to do.
johncd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 1, 2009, 5:51 AM   #2

Your camera choice depends a lot on what you want to shoot. Both the Nikon D40 and the D60 are not very good at sports/action/wildlife because of an autofocus system that isn't up to the task.

Those Nikons also don't have internal autofocus motors, so only lenses that have their own motors will autofocus on the D40/D60. That rules out about half of Nikon's own lenses (including some of their best) and most third party lenses as well. So the selection of lenses is small and can be expensive.

Those two limitations really rule out the D40 and D60 for most people.