Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 8, 2009, 8:38 PM   #1

Hello everyone! I'm a bit lost and so I look to you for some help. About 3 years ago I got much advice here on what to get for very cheap, but decent pics. I was on a tight budget and needed something fairly quick. I ended up with a Kodak Z730 refurb for about $160 shipped and it has held up fine, but my wife and I really feel its limitations. That leads me to the point: I think it's time to step up to the dSLR world. I have zero firsthand experience with SLR cameras and there's only so much I can read without having one to use so I'm absolutely a beginner. My wife had an old "normal" SLR (read: used standard film) and many years ago had taken a photography class in college so she does get the basics and has explained some to me. So that, much reading and what little options there are on my little Kodak have at least shown me what I wish I could do, but can't without a better camera. I'm very tech-oriented (IT manager), love learning new things with new gadgets so I'm ready to dive in. I'm also strongly considering taking a digital photogrphy class along with whatever dSLR I end up with. I want to get the most out of this hobby. What we would shoot the most: * Wildlife - on the move as well as long shots with telephoto lens * Scenery - long landscape shots, clouds, sunsets, lakes, rivers, you name it * Action - hockey (both at pro games and our own rec games we play), moving pet shots, etc. * Indoor - friends, family, etc. Prefer available light when possible instead of "setting up" with flash.
* Low light - outside night shots, moon, cities at night, etc.

Hmm ok I realize that's a pretty broad spectrum of shooting conditions, but if I don't list everything I know I would shoot on a regular basis then I'd only be doing myself a disservice.