Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 15, 2009, 7:50 PM   #1

I've started using a DSLR over a year ago and I like my D40x. However, now I want a faster, better, a newer camera. I want more control, such as white balance etc.

Anyway the body only prices for D90 and D200 are fairly close on amazon.com. I cannot make up my mind between those two. D90 is a new model and D200 has been replaced. D90 is a smaller and a less pro camera in my opinion. But being the new technology and just being released recently may give the advantage to it? GPS tagging and more megapixels may be an advantage too.

This is my hobby so it is not like I am a pro. Any opinion, suggestions is welcomed.

Thanks.
Cyrus14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 15, 2009, 9:54 PM   #2

D90 is the better camera. But I'm curious - what type of photography do you do? Sometimes it isn't a newer camera body that can have the most impact it's a better lens or flash or other accessory.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2009, 10:28 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply. I have been reading other forums; it sounds like because of the sensor and the newer technology people are leaning towards D90 in liue of the D200 even though D90 is not as pro.

You also made me think why I wanna new camera besides the fact that it has been awhile I made a major electronic purchase and I am probably itching to spend some money. And I want some new toy to play with. I think what I want is more controls such as the temperature setting for the white balance, faster FPS and more control over the ISO etc. So probably I dont really need a new camera, yet I keep looking at it and have been wanting to buy one. But if it is going to provide better quality pictures, sharper pictures, it may be worth it.