Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 17, 2009, 8:06 PM   #1

looking to upgrade my gear to a more serious approach for 2009....

i have little to no experience with the dSLR market. I have used a few friends' cameras recently to try and help me make my decision....

i am curently looking into 3 cameras...

Nikon D300

Canon 50D

Olympus E-30

i like them all....in one way or another...

and, i dont know where to go from there....i have a local 'camera' shop that sells them all and they are pushing the oly e30 on me. i like its weight, like the built in stabilizer in teh body as opposed to the individual lens of the canon...

the lenses i looked at for the olympus 'felt' heavier, as if they ad a better quality glass in them than a standard canon lens....

can anyone elsborate on this?

is there one that i shoudl get (ie, canon) because it has more online and aftermarket support?

the olympus seems good because the lenses are a little cheaper too...is this because there is no built in stabilizer like in the canoncameras?

don't know anyone with a nikon that is close, but they are nice and get a lot of support...

my medium will range from rock crawling and track racing motorsport races to food (i am a chef) to the wife and dog....

i appreciate any and all comments i receive...i understand that this question gets asked a lot...and i am sorry....

thanks!

under_psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 18, 2009, 8:06 AM   #2

In order to answer you question as to what would be a good camera in your particular situation, folks are going to need a bit more information.