Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 15, 2009, 9:44 PM   #1

Hello all..

Iknow you get questions like this all the time.. butI hope some of you will take a few minutes to help me out..

I have never used an SLR camera before. I currently have a Nikon Coolpix p80. It's the nicest cameraI have owned. I love taking nature pictures and the occasional pictures of my boyfriend riding his dirtbike. I have been researching the Nikon d40 and the Nikon d60 and I simply don't know which one to get. I don't have a lot of money( limited to about $500 max ), and eventually I would like to go to school and maybe take classes for photography. So I need a good starter camera.

I have found a good deal on a Nikon d40DSLRthat includes a Nikon AF-S DX 55-200mm VR Nikkor Zoom Lens f/4-5.6G IF-ED ( i was told that the AF-S lens will auto-focus ). Should I go for it or does anyone have any other recomindations?

Thank You :-)
tiffanie019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 15, 2009, 11:07 PM   #2

First, the D40 and D60 don't have a very good autofocus system for sports/action/wildlife, so your boyfriend on his dirtbike might be too much for it.

Second, the 55-200 VR all by itself goes for $225. You found a deal where you can get it plus a D40 for $500? Did it fall off the back of a truck? Can you tell us who is offering this deal to you?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2009, 6:37 AM   #3

TCav wrote:
Quote:
First, the D40 and D60 don't have a very good autofocus system for sports/action/wildlife, so your boyfriend on his dirtbike might be too much for it.