Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 20, 2009, 10:38 AM   #1

Default Need a a good value camera for FORMULA 1 ???

Hi, i need a camera that will be capable fo giving me good quality shots when i go to see formula 1 in the summer. Need good zoom and the ability to catch motion pictures.
I am a student so need a good value camera that won't break the bank!
The tickets already did that! But of course need a good one to record such an event!
Advice would be most useful
krosey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 21, 2009, 2:24 PM   #2

Krosey-

Because the purchase price seems to be the issue, take a look at the Kodak Z-1012 IS.
Here in the USA, the list price on that camera has just been reduced to $(US) 199.95.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2009, 1:10 AM   #3
Super Moderator

You need to be realistic about the kind of shots you are going to get.

Formula 1 is VERY fast. In fact unless you have been to a Formula 1 race it's almost impossible to imagine until you see it.

Now for the bad news: Unless you have access to the press areas AND some very expensive equipment AND a lot of skill you are not going to get great shots of the cars as they go past.

Depending on the track you may find it very difficult to get any shots of the cars except in the distance and every shot will likely have a big fence in the way.

That's not to say that there aren't still lots of great photo opportunities; the crowds, the girls (or boys), the atmosphere, the cars as background with crowds/people as foreground interest, the airshow, etc, etc. A formula 1 day is a great place to take pictures, just don't go in there with a plan to take fantastic photos of cars in motion.
peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2009, 5:02 AM   #4