Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 27, 2009, 6:59 AM   #1

Default Point & Shoot

Based on the latest reviews it looks like the Nikon Cool Pics P90 is the best overall point and shoot available......do you agree?
Stan C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 27, 2009, 11:03 AM   #2

I am sorry to say, Stan, that I surely do not agree with your premise-

Yes, the Nikon P-80 does very well in an out of doors setting, where natural lighting is being used. However, when the P-90 is taken in doors, thins begin to head south a bit. It is flash range limited and it is very prone to showing a good deal of noise, when the ISO setting is advanced to 200 or more.

How do I know this, you might ask? Well, I own the Nikon P-80, I am a digital camera instructor, and I currently have a student with the P-90, that I have been working one on one with attempting to help him with a lot of shots. So in the last twoo weeks I have a lot of hands on experience with the Nikon P-90.

Also here is something else that might interest you. The Nikon P-90, the Kodak Z-980, and the Pentax X-70 cameras all share the very same lens, the chasis, and many of the internal parts in common.

Take a look at the Panasonic FZ-28 or Sony H-50 and their photos. The difference is surprising.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2009, 8:28 PM   #3

Stan, I have much better news for you-

After working all afternoon with my student and his Nikon P-90 camera, I honestly believe that we have created a work around.

The Scene Modes are very unpredicable on the P-90. Sometimes they work quite well, the following time, it all goes to pot. The Auto Mode do quite well, but with the P (for programed auto mode) the Nikon P-90 really begins to produce very consistent, excellent IQ photos. The Macro Mode does well in good light, avoid low light level macro shots.