Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 3, 2009, 9:46 PM   #1

Default Canon SX10 or the Nikon P90???

Hello all,

I am a newbie to both this forum and to digital photography. I am ready to buy a digital camera and I am debating whether to buy either the Canon SX10 or the Nikon P90 as both are on sale this week at Best Buy. I've been doing some research and I'm looking for a point and shoot camera with as long an optical zoom as possible, good image quality on the auto modes, an electronic viewfinder as well as an LCD screen.

From what I've been reading on Amazon and the Best Buy customer reviews, the Canon seems to be much better rated than the Nikon P90, although the P90 is a new model and hasn't been around that long, but still those first impressions on the Nikon have me kind of wary. The Canon seems to have more features than the Nikon but it's heavier and bulkier, but I can live with the bulk as long as the quality is better. I did have a Canon SD400 and it took great pictures most of the time, but I want something with a longer zoom and something I can grow with.

The camera will be used mainly for taking pictures of family, indoor pets, and nature shots outside. I look forward to whatever tips, comments or suggestions you may offer.

Thank you and I look forward to meeting you and sharing and learning more about digital photography.

Andrea
Ladyblue627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 4, 2009, 2:26 PM   #2

Go to bestbuy and check both. I don't think it is heavier and bulkier.
oneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2009, 9:05 AM   #3

Just for your info, the Kodak Z980 has also 26X zoom range as the Nikon P90. It has the amazing Kodak color as well.

Body-wise, the Kodak Z980 looks similar in size and shape of a Nikon P90.

There is a thread in the Kodak forum here that discusses this relatively new Kodak super zoom.
dancheng is offline   Reply With Quote