Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 8, 2009, 8:51 AM   #1

Default Casual photographer with big budget?

I'm a casual photographer and just want to be able to take great quality photos & record the best possible video of both indoors & outdoor environments. I have no technical knowledge of photography. I can spend $1000ish or more. What should I buy?

Once again I require the camera to be able to take photos as well as record video of the highest quality possible.

Being rugged, durable, long battery life and car mountable are all great advantages.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by inspectordhar; Jun 8, 2009 at 8:54 AM.
inspectordhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 8, 2009, 9:17 AM   #2

For $1,000 the Nikon D5000 or the Canon Rebel T1i are your best bets. I don't know if either are car mountable. The Canon has better video capability.
AndyfromVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 10:59 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyfromVA View Post
For $1,000 the Nikon D5000 or the Canon Rebel T1i are your best bets. I don't know if either are car mountable. The Canon has better video capability.
Hi, I understand the Canon Rebel T1i records HD 1080p video at only 20fps? Anything that can do this at ~30fps & still have all the features or more than the Canon Rebel T1i? I can stretch the budget if it's the best out there
inspectordhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2009, 11:42 AM   #4

I believe the Canon EOS 5D Mark II has better video, but it's also almost $3,000.
Old Jun 8, 2009, 12:12 PM   #5
Super Moderator

What are you really trying to shoot as it might be that a dSLR is not the best route for video?

I have a Canon 500D/T1i and a Canon SX1 both of which do video with different capabilities. I'm probably getting the Canon 5D mkII in a weeks time as I've got a few weddings booked this year and feel like an upg to the original 5D.