Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 19, 2009, 6:15 PM   #1

Default First DSLR: D90 or 50D? And what first lens?

I want to switch from P&S to a DSLR camera and canít decide on which camera to get. I have no experience with DSLR so the new camera needs built in automatic modes that I can use while I learn the manual modes. I take mostly pictures of my 1 year old daughter (lots of indoor pictures) but also take pictures while on vacation.
From my research, it looks like the Nikon D90 or the Canon 50D would be good cameras that would allow me to start with the automatic modes but could grow with me as I learn more. Iíve read a ton of reviews and forum posts but canít decide on one versus the other. I would also like only one good everyday lens that I can use most of the time. I don't mind adding extra lens later on but initially would like one only.

Currently, Best Buy has the following kits with the D90 and 50D:
Nikon D90 - 18-105mm f/3.5 - f/5.6 DX Nikkor lens - $1,199.99
Canon 50D - EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM lens - $1,399.99
Are those good everyday lens? From the forum posts that Iíve read, Iíve seen a lot of people recommending the 18-200mm but that means I canít get it local and the price on B&H would mean an extra $450 or $200 depending on the camera.
Nikon D90 - 18-200mm VR II Lens - 1,649.95
Canon 50D - 18-200mm EF-S IS Lens - $ 1,599.95
Would I be able to see the difference or would the 18-200mm filter be more useful and last longer to justify the extra cost?

Based on the above, would you recommend the D90 or 50D and what lens?

Thank you very much! I really appreciate it.

Daniel
mrdaniel76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 19, 2009, 7:14 PM   #2

Daniel-

I would go with the D-90 and the 18-105 mm VR kit lens. It has received great professional reviews and is an excellent camera. I would also get the very reasonably priced Nikon SB-400 flash unit for those indoor photos.