Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 24, 2009, 2:24 PM   #1

Default Canon Superzoom or Pentax DSLR?

After reading many reviews and threads..

It came to me this question:
Is it worth it pay $100 more to buy the pentax k2000 than buying the Canon SX10 is?

I am an amateur photographer but I wish to improve my skills and I'll be taking photography lessons.

I want the camera to take nice good quality pictures at any weather or light conditions. But I'm also interested in taking all type of photos, from landscapes to tiny details and action scenes.

Which is the best option for me?

Edit: sorry the title should be Pentax SRL

Last edited by ramagutierrez; Jul 24, 2009 at 2:34 PM.
ramagutierrez is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 24, 2009, 2:57 PM   #2

Default A DSLR versus a Super Zoom Camera

In my opinion, you should look at all of the economical consumer level DSLR cameras. They each have advantages and disadvantages. The challenge is to find a DSLR that works well for you.

By and large, super zoom cameras have great zoom capability, but they are rather poor for shooting in low light level conditions. Therefore, based on your stated goals in this post, I would venture the conclusion is that the DSLR camera would more effectively fill your rather broad and general camera needs.

The Nikon D-40 and D-5000 cameras, the Canon XSi and T-1 cameras, the Pentax K-2000 camera, and the Sony A-200 camera all fit into the category that I am speaking about.

Here is a no flash photo taken through a store window done with the Pentax K-2000 equipped with the Pentax DAL 18-55mm kit lens.

Sarah Joyce
Attached Images

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2009, 7:13 PM   #3