Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 12, 2009, 8:23 PM   #1

Default busy new arty mom needs help picking camera

Hi everyone,
I am an art teacher and a new mom. I have an Olympus 2020 that I have had since 2000 and have really liked it, but now that I have a new son I have found that it does not do as well for inside close ups. It is also a little heavy to carry everyplace with me (although I still do cause you got to take pictures). So I decided it is time to get a new camera. Last time I needed a camera I pored over reviews on this sight for hours but I no longer have the time to do that so please help me.

I am an artist and I use my photos as reference in my artwork (painting, pencil). Nature (mostly horses, dogs, landscapes, seascapes) I like a camera that could take a pictures of a horse running.

I am a teacher so I also take photos of students, candid and program shots for yearbook under florescent lights.

Most of all I take close up portraits of my baby. (Although people portraits are a new focus of mine)

So what I would like is a great all around camera that takes good landscapes, can capture movement (horses, kids) and take great close up people portraits inside (the lighting is horrible in our house) and outside. At this stage in my life (diaper bag, one arm holding a baby) I need something not too big, and if I had to compromise I could on the landscapes as my Olympus still does a very nice job on those, and still works great.

My budget is about 300 could go higher if need be but not too much.
Please give me some ideas and that way I could narrow my search and read just the cameras that may be good for me.

Thanks so much
Gerrie
Gerrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 13, 2009, 10:54 AM   #2