Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 20, 2009, 8:11 AM   #1

Default Canon SLR & depth of field

I am thinking about buying a Canon - EOS Digital Rebel XS 10.1-Megapixel Digital SLR Camera, with the intent of using it for portraits of my child. My goal is to get good background blur / depth of field. Will I be able to accomplish this with the lens that comes with the camera? Also, is there a lot of skill involved with achieving a good depth of field, as in manual focusing, or do you get this with just regular point & shoot techniques? I have to admit I am not an expert when it comes to cameras!
lcmnichols is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 20, 2009, 8:24 AM   #2

The kit lens will NOT give you good background blur. I'm partial to the 85mm 1.8 for that. The 50mm 1.8 is better than the kit lens and is an inexpensive start ($85 vs. $380 for 85mm) but still not great.

The challenge with shallow DOF portraiture is getting your subject in focus. And then it's a question of how much of your subject you want in focus. For example, in this photo only half my son's face is in focus:

Here, his entire head is in focus:

BUT, here's where the trade-off comes in. If you increase the DOF so the entire subject is in focus then more of your background is in focus. So, to get a blurred background your subject needs more separation from that background. In both of the above shots the background is blurred but there's a huge difference in distance from subject to background from one photo to the other.

Also, good portrait work requires the control of light. You'll want a good external flash (430exII is a good choice) to get the best results. And you'll need to learn to use it effectively.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2009, 12:24 PM   #3