Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 22, 2009, 7:10 AM   #1

Default Help me choose a good digicam

Hi, I am a novice to photography. Never used a camera before. Therefore I need your advice in buying a good digicam

Purpose - Travel, Capture scenic beauties, indoors and outdoors, people, groups, actions / motions etc.

Preferences - a)Wide-angle, b)Sharper Quality, c)freedom to experiment and learn, d)minimum 10 MP, e)minimum 10x zoom e) HD movie facility (though not frequently used), g)easy to carry while on travel and f) easy to operate for a novice like me.

My budget - preferably less than 400$

I have narrowed down to the following models within the specific price range :

upto USD 400$

1) Kodak Z1015 IS / Z980
2) Fuji S1500 / S2000 HD
3) Nikon L100
4) Sony H20

above USD 400$ (can stretch a little bit if it offers great features)
1) Sony HX1
2) Panasonic TZ6 / TZ7 / FZ28
3) Canon SX1 IS / SX 200 IS
4) Nikon P90
5) Olympus SP 590UZ

Please help me select one under each of these price ranges.

Thanks for your advice in advance.
srinicam2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 22, 2009, 12:16 PM   #2

srinicam-

Because you has specified that the camera's physical size is a personal priority, out of the first group, I would suggest the Sony H-20 Camera. The camera has very good image quality, great flash range for indoor shots, takes video clips, and it is the physically smallest of the first group. Here in the USA, the Sony H-20 is selling for around $(US) 250.00.

In the second group the lowest price and size physical award goes to the Panasonic ZS1/TZ-6 camera. The camera produces very good image quality outdoors. However, indoors, due to a small flash and minimum flash range, the camera struggles to produce good images. This camera does not have video clip capability. Here in the USA the ZS1/TZ-6 is selling for around $(US) 240.00.