Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 24, 2009, 1:50 PM   #1

Default New to the photography world

I've never been much interested in taking pictures until a friend of mine showed me some shots she took with her digital camera. I was hooked. Now I'd like to find the perfect camera for me. Keep in mind please that I am a beginner and need a simple point and shoot type camera. I will be taking photos mostly in low light and I'll need a powerful zoom as I plan to take landscape type photos. Ideally I'd like to have a camera that's versitile, but as I've read in many of these posts, I understand that one size does not fit all occasions. I love to attend concerts and I'd like to be able to take great shots in those situations too..low light and from a distance. The beginner's camera that I own now is a kodak and only has a 3x zoom with 5 mp. It takes really good candid shots of my kids but it's not great in low light. Any and all help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
littlek is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 24, 2009, 2:50 PM   #2

LittleK-

Thanks for your post and welcome to the Forum. Concert photos are a tough number, in as much as the Security Forces at any concert will not let any "professional" looking camera through security to the concert.

Therefore, we need to find a very talented low light camera that has an innocent look to it. My suggestion would be either of two cameras. (1) the New Fuji F-70 camera which can shoot quite nicely at ISO speeds up to ISO 800 and it has 10X optical zoom (27mm to 270mm). (2) the Fuji F-200 which is also a high ISO capable camera with 5X optical zoom.

If I have become too technical with my terminology, please let me know and we can break down the terms. Have a great day.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2009, 2:54 PM   #3