Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 27, 2009, 2:54 AM   #1

Default Beginner Action/Sports SLR Setup

So I've done some thinking about what I'd like my camera to do, what my budget constraints are and what things may be like in the future and here's what I came up with please let me know what you think about the options.

What I'd like it to do:
Shoot outdoor action shots of sports, animals in motion, humans in motion. I play a lot of sports, and am a pretty active person and love seeing sports shots. I'm a total beginner to SLR's so this will also be an experiment in if I will actually use and enjoy it (I'm also a tech nerd at heart). Examples of uses: amateur/youth Baseball,football,soccer, taking pictures of our new puppy romping around the back yard, park and beach. I also sold the boss (aka wife) on the idea by saying it would be good practice for getting good with an SLR camera for when we have a kid (1-2yrs out). So I will be doing some indoors portraits and landscapes but those will take a back seat in priority, just don't tell the boss

Budget:
Definitelyunder $1000 for camera and lens might have less to work with than that...

Future:
In around a year I could see doing more portrait kind of stuff when and if a kid is added to the family, but by then if I actually get good use out of the first rig I can justify upgrading . But something to think about if I have a quality lens I can bring along with me to the future rig.

Cameras:
Did some research on action DSLR's and most of what I found (including on here) pointed towards Canon due to the superior AF at the lower price points. Here are the contenders I came up with.

-20D old but with most money left over for lens(es)
-40D
-XSi
-T1i

Camera would most like be bought used to get the most bang/$