Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 25, 2009, 1:42 PM   #1

Default Help Narrowing Camera Choices

After some consideration and paying attention to how and when I use a camera (or want to) I have concluded that my camera usage does or would fall into the following categories: (1) day-to-day -- I have found so many situations where I say "this would be a great shot, I really wish I had my camera."; (2) Travel; (3) Family events, etc.; and (4) Going out somewhere specifically for the purpose of taking pictures (haven't done this yet, but I hope to at some point).

With this in mind, I'm thinking that I may need more than one camera (at a minimum a small pocket camera and something a little bigger?)

I currently have a 5 year old Kodak that takes good pictures and has many manual features (which I am just learning to use), but the camera is a little too big for me to carry everywhere and there are some things I would like that it doesn't have (e.g., bigger LCD, Image Stabilization, wider lens and longer Zoom).

I know this doesn't give you much to go on, but in the first instance I am trying to find a pocket camera to carry with me daily and I'm not certain what to look at. Can I find a very small camera that can be used for all of the above? Should I get something very inexpensive for this purpose and spend my money on a DSLR or advanced point and shoot as a second camera? If I buy an inexpensive pocket camera and something more advanced, will I then want a small point and shoot superzoom for travel. I would like to cover my bases without winding up with 4 different cameras :-) Anyway, let's start with the pocket day-to day camera.

General thoughts are very much appreciated.
Jazzer251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 25, 2009, 2:37 PM   #2