Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 7, 2009, 1:51 PM   #1

Default Age old Question? DSLR or High End Digicam

Hello all,

A newbie here and with a very familiar sounding question: I am finally ready to take the digital plunge ( yes, I am still shooting with a Canon EOS Elan 2E)
and am in desperate need of your advice. I have been checking all the usual review sites and have come to the conclusion I am in the mind set of not wanting to spend a huge amount of $ on various accessories for a high end DSLR, but wanting very good quality prints for 8x10's and under. I would also like the versatility of being able to shoot occasional video with zoom as I don't curretnly own a video camera.
The reviews of the Canon SX 1 IS certainly seem good, but I could also be convinced to spend a little more on an entry level DSLR.
So far I have looked at:

Canon XSi ( high end range)
Pentax K200D
Pentax X 70
Pentax K2000 ( comes with 2 lenses in the kit)

I am open to all suggestions but don't want to go over $600 initially,
if possible.

Thanks everyone!
Lizzie_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 7, 2009, 2:03 PM   #2

Oh, maybe I should consider the new Pentax Kx? It has 720p HD video at a price tag of $649.00? Too new so no hands on reviews yet.
Old Oct 7, 2009, 2:17 PM   #3

What kind of lenses do you have? If they are good lenses, then take that into consideration as you'd be able to use them on a Canon dSLR. That could save you quite a bit of money over switching to a different platform, like Pentax. That was one of several reasons I bought Pentax to begin with - I had a bunch of Pentax lenses originally purchased in 1980 that were still perfectly good.