Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 17, 2009, 1:21 PM   #1

Default [Recommendation] First camera for a newcomer.

Hi all,

How are you? I'm new to photography and I'm looking to purchase my first digital camera, so I am hoping you can provide me with insights and advice for me to make the correct purchase.

Budget
- USD $300.

Are you new to cameras?
- Yes.

Where do you plan on using this camera?
- General everyday photography - as this will be my first camera, I would prefer an all-rounder of a camera. Examples would be:
- face portraits shots
- scenery/landscapes
- group photos (e.g. at the dinner table)
- during travels with my girlfriend
- outings (e.g. to the beach, butterfly farm, light house)

Do you plan on using this camera indoors or in low light?
- Yes, I will be using it indoors and in low-light conditions (at home, at restaurants) I would like a camera that can work well with and without flash.

Do you plan on taking lots of sports or other action photos?
- No. If I do, it will be photos of my shih tzu puppies and golden retriever.

Will you want manual settings and lots of features?
- Full auto/easy mode is essential, as I am new to photography, this will help me get my feet wet. It will also come in handy for my mom/others to easily use it.
- However, as I want to learn and appreciate better photography, some manual control will be important too, so I guess at the very minimum I should include aperture and shutter priority.

How much will you need to zoom?
- High about 4-8X, as I guess it will come in handy for face-up/head portrait shots, and also gives me that zoom option during travels.

How large will you need to make your prints?
- I don't think I will be doing much printing, may be the occasional normal prints (4x6) and may be an odd large one or two.

Size