Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 20, 2009, 7:02 PM   #1

Default Dipping an oar in the digiwater again ...

Hi. Thanks to all who've made this forum such a useful resource.

I am still looking to select a camera to buy. I am somewhat the wiser. I do not expect my camera to do everything. I do not expect it do anything well without some knowledgeable input. As my budget is limited (but, like almost everyone, big to me), I have put a good bit of thought into what is most important to me, and the relative importance of camera features.

My camera will be a mobile data collection tool. I will not use it to enhance the data, nor will I use it to show others the data.

Here are my refined parameters. I seek your help.

Very nearly necessary:
•My budget is $400 max (and that includes card, batteries, & case).
-- OK, a little wiggle room, but only for superbities.
•Exceptional color fidelity
-- I am a painter. The only images I've seen which have true color are from the Sigma Foveon cameras (I thought this before I knew what they were). I am almost always disappointed in the color rendition from P & S digicams. I understand that I have some control over this, but -- clearly -- the better the data at the start the more likely to have useful data at the end.
•RAW format.
-- Not absolutely necessary, but seems unwise to leave it out.
•Manual controls
-- Because I want to be able to tweak whatever the camera designers think I want.
•Good with low light
-- I work by natural light. I would like to take photos in natural light.
•Very low noise
-- Noise gives me stomach aches.
•Wide angle (at least 25mm?).
-- I like taking big shots outdoors.

Desired:
•Pocketable
•Viewfinder
•High-dynamic range built in
•Sensible menus and control layout
•A bit of zoom
•SD or compatible card
•Good macro capability
•Time-lapse built in
•Panorama mode