Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 26, 2009, 3:15 PM   #1

Default Trying to save yet get a good dslr.....

I am looking to get into the dslr ring. I have found a used Pentax *istD online local to me that has 2600 shutters on it right now. He has stopped using it as he purchased another one. I can get the camera, SMC DFA 18-35mm lens, UV lens, memory card and adobe software for $300. I think this is a good buy as I am just trying to get started in the dslr camera world. I have looked at the Canon Xti with EF-S 18-55mm lens is $400 and it's almost new with case as well, Sony A230, Olympus E420, and another Canon Rebel XS. Also I can go Nikon as well since a friend of mine has a lens that he will almost give me. But I feel that the *istD even though it is only 6.1 mp it seems to have a better user rating on it and feels well also. So my question is am I begining my journey down the right path at a good price? And yes I am a newb. Where as my wife has taken a class already to give her an added step on things. Any advice is appreciated.
gndksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 26, 2009, 3:27 PM   #2
Super Moderator

The *std is several generations old at this point, and doesnt really perform up with the newer generations, and at 300$, its not much cheaper than what you can get a newer generation.

i did a quick search on bhphotovideo, sorted lowest to highest. you can see that some new camera's can be had for 450$. i.e. the oly e-520, and if you click the add cart for low price on the pentax k2000, its actually $450 as well.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search...Ns=p_PRICE_2|0

no doubt further searching could yield more results.
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 3:30 PM   #3