Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 26, 2009, 3:07 PM   #1

Default Want a great, intro DSLR- check this article out

For those just getting into DSLR- dom...check out this month's Shutterbug magazine. Great report and review of the Pentax K2000 (KM).

In fact the reviewer says and I paraphrase... that the K2000 would be his first suggestion for any photographer getting into photography. He compares it to the legendary Pentax K1000 of 35 mm yesteryear, a camera that many photographers cut their teeth on.

I have a K2000...although I'm not a beginner. I use it as a second body to my K10D and for my Pentax system of lenses...I also use it as a daily, carry around during the day.

After using my K2000 (KM) extensively for about 6 months I find my experience agrees with his review.

As I always mention I check out a number of tests at websites, magazines, personal discussions with those who have the equipment...and most importantly of all...I always try it out...particularly for the kind of photos I take.

I'm careful when listening to some...some individuals have blind loyalties to a particular brand.

Remember get as much information from as many sources as you can.... weigh all the evidence....then make an informed decision.

I have Pentax equipment...but I also have other brands that I'm happy with...Canon, Leica, Olympus, etc...there are some really good brands out there that can fulfill your needs.

Last edited by lesmore49; Oct 26, 2009 at 3:13 PM.
lesmore49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 26, 2009, 4:36 PM   #2

Thanks a lot, Les-

The Pentax Km or the Pentax K-2000 as it is called in the USA is a great DSLR camera, that is not only capable of great image quality but it is also easy to use. It is a DSLR camera that I recommend highly to anyone wishing to move over to a DSLR camera.