Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 2, 2009, 4:32 PM   #1

Default Nikon d90 vs Canon 50d

Hi, I'm brand new to the world of dslr and need help chosing a camera. I'm moving to England soon and want to have something better than just a point and shoot camera. I want to be able to capture scenary from all the places I visit over the next 4 years. I'm also intrested in more though, I'm a huge fan of photoshop. Unfourtuantly point and shoots just don't give the quality I'm looking for. I plan on have the camera for a long time and don't want to buy a cheap ($600) camera and wish I had just spent more to get a better camera. I think I have it narrowed down to the Nikon d90 or Canon 50d, but to be quite honest I'm not really sure what's what. I've just talked to friends who say they're both good cameras. I need advice about what's really the best slr for a first timer (I catch on very quickly) I'm not sure how much it matters but I love taking black and white photos. While right now photography is just a hobby, I would like for it to be more down the road. Thanks Oh ya, My budget is up to $1300ish for now and I'll add better lenses as I go
CSMGURL03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 2, 2009, 4:41 PM   #2

One more sidenote. It is important to me that I stay with a well known brand name as I will be out of the states. I just want to make sure I can buy accesories for it wherever I am.
Old Nov 2, 2009, 4:50 PM   #3
Super Moderator

to be honest. they are both excellent cameras and would suit your needs equally well. the only caveat is that the nikon offers video.

if you do not need/want video, then i would suggest heading down to your local camera shop and spending some time with both cameras. see which one fits your hand best, see which control layout is the most comfortable and natural. after you do this, the answer will become clear to you quite quickly.