Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 8, 2009, 11:46 AM   #1

Default Best camera in low light

I'm looking for a camera in the roughly $500 and under. I have a kodak z612 my husband has a kodak z1012is and both perform poorly. I'm not a professional so buying a DSLR would be wasted on me. I'd never utilize all the features. I shoot indoors a lot, and I need something with really good stability
cj54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 8, 2009, 12:25 PM   #2

cj-

Welcome to the Forum. Thanks for dropping by.

Your title is "Best camera in low light."

To give you a workable and comprehensive answer we need to sort out some of the details.

(1) You mention that you shoot a lot indoors. Is your indoor shooting done using the camera's built-in flash unit? Or are you referring to shooting with just the ambient like found in the photo scene.

(2) Both of the cameras being used in your household are good point and shoot cameras. However, the actual physical size of the imager in either of these two cameras is the source a lot of electronic noise. Likewise, those two cameras are hampered by their inability to use high numerical ISO settings which generate very slow shutter speeds, blurry photos and a lot of grainy electronic noise.

(3) In contrast, the physical size of the imagers, used even on entry level DSLR cameras, which are within your proposed budget, are 15 to 20 times physically larger than the imagers used in point and shoot cameras. Larger imagers, allow you to functionally use higher numerical ISO settings, thus your shutter speeds are higher, and in large measure, blurry photos are eliminated, the increase in image quality is rather amazing.

(4) There are many hobbyist photographers out there using, enjoying, and getting great photos with their DSLR cameras. DSLR cameras are not the sole domain of professional photographers.